Dye Day

September 9, 2009

 

roving dyed sept.9

Kettle and Oven-dyed Roving, drying

 

 

Today I dyed a bunch of roving for making dreads and scarves. I think I’m going to have to invest in some more colours – I use Jacquard Acid Dyes, and I’ve been using Sky Blue, Cherry Red, Turquoise and Yellow to mix and get different colours. I can get some nice, custom colours this way, but the range is limited. I focused on purples today, and while I like the colours that I got, I wasn’t able to get the variation in hues that I wanted.

I was frustrated with the purple by the end of the dyeing session, so I did some random-dyeing with red, orange and green. I can’t wait to see how this one felts up!

I also threw a nylon slip into the dye pot as an experiment. It came out a lot lighter than I expected, but it’s a pretty colour.

 

Kettle-dyed nylon slip

Kettle-dyed nylon slip

Leave a Reply

