Re-Vamp

February 24, 2010

This blog is sadly in need of a revamp. I started it because I was trying to get an etsy shop going, and all the “Etsy success!” guidelines said you should have a blog in order to generate traffic to your shop. My shop didn’t do well, and truth be told I am not all that interested in putting as much energy as is required to keep an online shop going. I love making things, but I really don’t like photographing them, thinking up descriptions, figuring out shipping costs and all that stuff. Plus the stuff I make looks a lot better in person than in pictures (at least the pictures I am capable of taking). So I am going to stick with the craft fairs around here, and focus on creating and teaching.

Anyway, now that I am no longer trying to generate sale$, I am going to approach this blog a little differently. I will probably end up focusing more on the dance end of things, since that is where most of my creative energies are right now. I am not going to blog from a marketability standpoint (not that I really know how to do that anyway) and just write about what I’m doing, and what I hope to do, and not be concerned about having a photo or catchy title for each post, or censoring myself if I feel like swearing. Here’s to new beginnings!

One Response to “Re-Vamp”

  1. Collette said

    you should never blog from a marketability standpoint anyway. write from your heart. it’s obvious when people only blog to sell stuff, and it’s annoying and boring. it tends to not read well.

    blogging began because people had stuff to say, not because people had stuff to sell.

    bravo! you’ve just learned, all by yourself, your first marketing lesson.

Leave a Reply

