Checklist… Check!

May 10, 2010

(This is an article I wrote for the RAMED Spring 2010 newsletter.)

With so many shows coming up in the next few months, now is a good time to make sure all your essentials are ready to go. There’s nothing worse than arriving at a performance and realizing you’ve forgotten something! I like to keep a checklist and tick off things as I pack them – if I don’t have it written down chances are I’ll forget it! Here’s what’s on mine:

– All costumes, written down piece by piece, including accessories and props. I hang my costumes on individual hangers and transport in a garment bag. I like to keep accessories in zip-lock bags – I put a safety pin through the bag and hang it with the costume. That way I’m not searching for my earrings 5 minutes before the performance. 

– A cover-up – I prefer a snap-front caftan that I don’t have to pull over my head (gotta protect that hairstyle!)

– Sandals or slip-on shoes for walking around

– Mirror – most dressing room don’t have enough for everyone

– Mini sewing kit and safety pins

– Advil or Tylenol

– Hair brush, product, curling iron, bobby pins and whatever else you need to do or touch up your hair

– Extra veil and hip scarf (because you never know…)

– Something nice to change into afterwards, if going out

– Makeup kit – I keep mine in a tackle box. It includes foundation, powder, concealer, blush, eyeshadow, eyeliner, mascara, false eyelashes and glue, lip liner, lipstick, body glitter, tweezers, brushes and sponges, q-tips, bindis, a toothbrush and toothpaste, clear and coloured nail polish, a nail file, static guard, makeup remover and cotton pads, tampons and band-aids.

– A bottle of water

Above all, remember to have a wonderful time performing – smile and shimmy your heart out!

Leave a Reply

