Clackity Clunk…

December 2, 2010

Well, castanets are very, very hard. I don’t think I’ll be performing with them anytime soon! At least I know how one is supposed to play them now, even if I can’t do it myself.

Interesting things I learned about castanets:

– There is a “male” and a “female” castanet. The female one has a higher tone and is played in your dominant hand, the male one has a lower tone and is playd in your non-dominant hand.

– Just like in bellydance, there are certain words that go with certain beats of the music (we use doum and tak).

Ta = male hand golpe (one clack with middle and ring finger)

Pi = female hand golpe

Ria = roll with female hand

– In Flamenco, castanets are most often played in a Sevillianas. I’ll be taking a Sevillianas course in January so who knows, maybe I can practice.

(apologies for my poor Spanish spelling)

2 Responses to “Clackity Clunk…”

  1. hipmix said

    We learn something new every day, don’t we!? šŸ™‚

    ~Dilara
    HipMix.net

  2. Collette said

    totally neat! I didn’t know any of that either.

Leave a Reply

