New Year’s Resolutions

January 5, 2011

I’m a big fan of making new year’s resolutions. Even if I don’t keep them, I find it helpful to evaluate the things I’d like to work on in life. I’ve made some personal resolutions (such as remembering to floss my teeth!) but I’ve also made some dance related ones this year. Here they are:

1. Videotape myself dancing and watch with a critical eye – I think it would really help me to improve my skills and figure out what I need to work on. This is a little nerve wracking though – I hate watching myself on video!

2. Practice improv regularly – I used to do this a lot and I’ve fallen off it a bit lately. Knowing how to improv is really important especially when gigging – sometimes the stage just isn’t big enough to do what you’ve planned!

3. Keep my office area tidy – being a pack rat and artist-type, I tend to pile things up. I do need to keep a lot of supplies around, but I want to be able to have a clean (even attractive!) workspace.

4. Improve my promotional skills – I don’t really like doing the promotional stuff, but it’s necessary in order to have a successful business. This includes getting some nice business cards printed, increasing my brochure distribution, updating this site regularly, and looking into print advertising.

5. Take a few ballet classes – I’ve wanted to do this for awhile. I think it would help my technique.

Five is enough for now, I think! Happy 2011 everyone.

One Response to “New Year’s Resolutions”

  1. Amber Swain said

    If you ever want FREE ballet classes…I could teach you everything you need to know! I’ve got over 15+ years ballet experience, danced with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School and worked there too.

    I’ve been thinking of re-practicing everything over again anyway, so if you ever want a dancing buddy…well, this is just a thought. :o)

Leave a Reply

